EN
JSC PRO
Menü
JSC Video Lounge
KATEGORIEN

UNRELIABLE NARRATOR begleitet die Ausstellung A FIRE IN MY BELLY in der Julia Stoschek Collection, Berlin. Der von Lisa Long und Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung moderierte Podcast versammelt Interviews, Gespräche und Lesungen mit Künstler*innen, Autor*innen und anderen Protagonist*innen von A FIRE IN MY BELLY, und stellt Bezüge zu zentralen Fragen der Ausstellung her. Welche Bedingungen und Effekte systematischer Gewalt wirken auf Körper und wie werden diese Erfahrungen in Kunst umgewandelt?

Episode 8: Marion Scemama
28.01.2022 · 61:52
00:00

Am 30. Januar 2022 endet mit A FIRE IN MY BELLY die bisher größte Ausstellung in der JSC Berlin. Aus diesem Anlass zeigen wir den Film Self-Portrait in 23 Rounds: A Chapter in David Wojnarowicz’s Life 1989-1991 (2018) von Marion Scemama vom 28. bis 30. Januar 2022 auf jsc.art. In dieser Folge von UNRELIABLE NARRATOR spricht die Künstlerin und Filmemacherin mit der Kuratorin Lisa Long.

 

In Marion Scemamas Film Self-Portrait in 23 Rounds: A Chapter in David Wojnarowicz’s Life 1989–1991 (2018) spricht der Künstler und Aktivist David Wojnarowicz (1954–1992) offen über die Bedeutung von Gefühlen wie Intimität, Begehren und Wut für seine künstlerische Arbeit. Dabei reflektiert er die existentiellen Widersprüche, die er in dieser Zeit, kurz nach der Diagnose einer HIV-Infektion, empfindet. Als enge Freundin von Wojnarowicz, zeichnet Scemama das Porträt eines Mannes, der sich mit seinem bevorstehenden Tod in einer Gesellschaft konfrontiert sieht, die sich nicht mit der AIDS-Epidemie auseinandersetzen will. Der Film basiert auf einem vierstündigen Interview mit Wojnarowicz, das der Kulturtheoretiker und Verleger von Semiotext(e), Sylvère Lotringer (1938–2021), im Mai 1989 führte.

FOLGE 7: Jesse Darling (III)
25.01.2022 · 08:32
00:00

Gewalt, Wut, Widerstand und Befreiung sind die vier Grundthemen der Ausstellung A FIRE IN MY BELLY. Dies ist die dritte von vier Lyriklesungen von Künstler*in Jesse Darling für UNRELIABLE NARRATOR, für die Darling Gedichte ausgewählt hat, um sie in Dialog mit den Gedichten in der Ausstellung zu bringen. In dieser Folge hören Sie Song in my heart von Diane Seuss, Snow and Dirty Rain von Richard Siken und won’t you celebrate with me von Lucille Clifton, das am Ende des Ausstellungskatalogs abgedruckt ist. Mit einer Einleitung von Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, kuratorische Assistenz von A FIRE IN MY BELLY und der Julia Stoschek Collection, Berlin.

FOLGE 6: caner teker
15.12.2021 · 42:48
00:00

Diese Folge des Podcasts UNRELIABLE NARRATOR widmet sich caner tekers  Performance KIRKPINAR, die im Rahmen der Ausstellung A FIRE IN MY BELLY, gemeinsam mit dem Festival Berlin Atonal Ende Oktober 2021 im Kraftwerk präsentiert wurde. Im Gespräch thematisiert caner die Ursprünge wie Konzeption der Performance, die auf den Erfahrungen des Aufwachsens innerhalb der türkischen Diaspora in Deutschland basiert, sowie den Einfluss des queeren Nachtlebens und der queeren Räume auf ihre* Haltung zur Performance-Dokumentation, und den Begriff der Fürsorge. Kurator Joel Mu wurde ebenfalls eingeladen, da er eng mit caner zusammengearbeitet hat. Joel zeigte u. a. das Stück Forever Endless 2018 im Kunsthaus KuLe im Zuge seines kuratorischen Programms mi1glissé/groupsandindividuals. Diese Folge wird von Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, kuratorischer Assistent von A FIRE IN MY BELLY / JSC Berlin, moderiert.

FOLGE 5: Jesse Darling (II)
01.11.2021 · 12:00
00:00

Diese Folge ist die zweite von vier Lyriklesungen im Rahmen des Podcasts UNRELIABLE NARRATOR. Wir haben Künstler*in Jesse Darling eingeladen, Gedichte auszuwählen und zu lesen, um diese in Dialog mit den Gedichten, die in der Ausstellung A FIRE IN MY BELLY zu finden sind, zu setzen. In dieser Folge liest Darling drei Werke: For Saundra von Nikki Giovanni, das ebenfalls im Ausstellungskatalog abgedruckt ist, Turnt von Juliana Spahr und eine Strophe aus Poems – 18th to 24th May 2020 von Verity Spott. Mit einer Einführung von Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, kuratorischer Assistent von A FIRE IN MY BELLY und der JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION.

FOLGE 4: P. Staff
14.10.2021 · 43:23
00:00

In dieser Folge sprechen Lisa Long und Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung mit Künstler*in P. Staff, dessen/deren Videoarbeit Weed Killer (2017) in der Ausstellung A FIRE IN MY BELLY in der JSC Berlin präsentiert wird. P. spricht über die „widerspenstige Verwandtschaft“ zwischen Krankheit (insbesondere Krebs) und Trans-Erfahrung sowie über die Frage, wie Erzählungen über den Körper pervertiert werden oder den Bereich von Repräsentation verlassen können. Indem er*sie für Weed Killer Passagen aus Catherine Lords Memoiren The Summer of Her Baldness (2004) verwendet, in denen die Autorin ihre Erfahrung einer Brustkrebserkrankung und Chemotherapie dokumentiert -, stellt P. Fragen zur Beziehung zwischen verfallenden Körpern und feindlichen Umgebungen in den Blick.

FOLGE 3: Jesse Darling
03.08.2021 · 06:47
00:00

Diese Folge ist die erste von vier Lyriklesungen im Rahmen von UNRELIABLE NARRATOR. Wir haben Künstler*in Jesse Darling eingeladen, Gedichte auszuwählen und zu lesen, um sie in Dialog mit den Gedichten in der Ausstellung A FIRE IN MY BELLY zu bringen. In dieser Folge wird Darling drei Werke lesen: zuerst ein Fragment aus Brendan Joyces five from Unemployment Insurance, dann C.D. Wrights Flame, das als Wandvinyl im Ausstellungsraum von A FIRE IN MY BELLY zu sehen ist, und Franny Chois The World Keeps Ending, and the World Goes On. Mit einer Einführung von Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, kuratorischer Assistent von A FIRE IN MY BELLY und der JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION.

FOLGE 2: Marianna Simnett
09.07.2021 · 40:58
00:00

In dieser Folge spricht Kuratorin Lisa Long mit der Künstlerin Marianna Simnett, deren Installation Faint with Light (2016) als Leihgabe in A FIRE IN MY BELLY in der JSC Berlin zu sehen ist. Im Gespräch geht es um die (un)möglichen Räume von Empathie, die Simnetts Arbeit eröffnet, und über die Orit Gat im Katalogtext schreibt: „Es ist anstrengend, quälend, man leidet mit, möchte kaum hinsehen – und wird doch gepackt von einem tiefen Gefühl der Empathie.” Außerdem geht es in dieser Folge um den Wert von Abstraktion als Verweigerung der Repräsentation, Kapitulation als Widerständigkeit und den Raum des Bewegtbilds als eine Art Operationssaal.

 

FOLGE 1: Sophia Al-Maria
14.06.2021 · 33:38
00:00

Lisa Long im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin Sophia Al-Maria über ihre Videoarbeit Beast Type Song (2019), die postkoloniale Dimension von Shakespeares Figur Sycorax aus Der Sturm und wie man die eigene Sprachlosigkeit überwindet. Außerdem geht es um die Frage, wie die Vergangenheit Aufschluss über eine noch unvorhersehbare Zukunft bieten kann.

DE
JSC PRO
Menu
JSC Video Lounge
CATEGORIES

UNRELIABLE NARRATOR is a podcast which sits alongside the exhibition A FIRE IN MY BELLY at the Julia Stoschek Collection, Berlin. Hosted by Lisa Long and Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, it features interviews, conversations and poetry readings with the various artists, writers, and interlocutors of A FIRE IN MY BELLY. The podcast extends upon the exhibition’s premise of how artists address the foundations and effects of systemic violence on bodies, and how these experiences are transformed into artistic gestures.

EPISODE 9: Jesse Darling (IV)
02.02.2022 · 06:22
00:00

This is the fourth and final episode of poetry readings attached to the exhibition A FIRE IN MY BELLY. We have had the pleasure of listening to the artist Jesse Darling read a few poems of their own choosing, in dialogue with the poetry already included in the exhibition. Here, their readings and this series conclude with The Silver Birch by Liz Berry, Revolutionary Letter 2 by Dianne di Prima, and two poems by David Wojnarowicz, whose unfinished film A Fire In My Belly (Film In Progress) and A Fire In My Belly (Excerpt) 1986-87, is from where our exhibition takes its title. The two poems of his that Jesse will read are Poem to Brian Sleeping, and History Keeps me Awake Some Nights. We would like to take this moment to thank Jesse for reading to us all so beautifully, and for the spirited atmosphere in which these readings came together. Introduced by Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, curatorial assistant of A FIRE IN MY BELLY and the Julia Stoschek Collection.

EPISODE 8: Marion Scemama
28.01.2022 · 61:52
00:00

A FIRE IN MY BELLY—the most extensive exhibition at JSC Berlin to date—ends on 30 January 2022. To mark this occasion, we are screening Self-Portrait in 23 Rounds: A Chapter in David Wojnarowicz’s Life 1989-1991 (2018) directed by Marion Scemama on 28 January 2022,  – 30 January 2022 on jsc.art. This episode of UNRELIABLE NARRATOR features a conversation between Scemama and our curator Lisa Long.

 

Marion Scemama’s film Self-Portrait in 23 Rounds: A Chapter in David Wojnarowicz’s Life 1989-1991 (2018) depicts the artist and activist David Wojnarowicz (1954–1992) speaking candidly about intimacy, desire, and the use of rage in his creative processes. Scemama—a close friend of Wojnarowicz’s—weaves an affecting portrait of a man who must reckon with his impending death in a society that refused to confront the AIDS epidemic. This film is based on a 4-hour interview conducted in May 1989 by cultural theorist Sylvère Lotringer (1938–2021)—founder of Semiotext(e)—a year after Wojnarowicz was diagnosed with HIV.

 

 

EPISODE 7: Jesse Darling (III)
25.01.2022 · 08:32
00:00

Violence, rage, resistance, and release—these are the four corners of the exhibition A FIRE IN MY BELLY. This episode is the third of four poetry readings on UNRELIABLE NARRATOR where the artist Jesse Darling reads to us a few poems of their own choosing, in dialogue with the poetry already included in the exhibition. In this episode, they will be reading Song in my heart by Diane Seuss, Snow and Dirty Rain by Richard Siken, and won’t you celebrate with me by Lucille Clifton, which is reprinted at the end of the exhibition catalogue. Introduced by Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, curatorial assistant of A FIRE IN MY BELLY and the Julia Stoschek Collection.

EPISODE 6: caner teker
15.12.2021 · 42:48
00:00

In this episode of UNRELIABLE NARRATOR, the artist caner teker speaks about their performance KIRKPINAR which is part of A FIRE IN MY BELLY, and was co-presented with Berlin Atonal in late October this year at Kraftwerk. Here, caner discusses the origins of the performance and its conception, which grew out of the experience of growing up as part of the Turkish diaspora in Germany, the influence of queer nightlife and spaces in their stance on performance documentation, and the notion of care, amongst other things. We also invited the curator Joel Mu for this episode, who has worked closely with caner—presenting their piece Forever Endless in 2018 at Kunsthaus KuLe as part of Joel’s curatorial program, mi1glissé/groupsandindividuals. This episode is presented by Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, the curatorial assistant of A FIRE IN MY BELLY and JSC Berlin.

EPISODE 5: Jesse Darling (II)
01.11.2021 · 12:00
00:00

This episode marks the second of four poetry readings on UNRELIABLE NARRATOR. We invited the artist Jesse Darling to read poems of their own choosing, in dialogue with the poetry already included in A FIRE IN MY BELLY. In this episode, they will be reading For Saundra by Nikki Giovanni which is reprinted in the exhibition catalogue, Turnt by Juliana Spahr, and a stanza from Poems – 18th to 24th May 2020 by Verity Spott. Introduced by Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, curatorial assistant of A FIRE IN MY BELLY and the Julia Stoschek Collection.

EPISODE 4: P. Staff
14.10.2021 · 43:23
00:00

In this episode of UNRELIABLE NARRATOR, Lisa Long and Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung speak with the artist P. Staff, whose video work Weed Killer (2017) is on view in A FIRE IN MY BELLY at JSC Berlin. Here, P. sheds light on the “unruly kinship” subsisting between illness (in particular, that of cancer) and the trans experience, and how narratives of the body can be perverted or leave realms of signification. Lifting passages from Catherine Lord’s 2004 memoir The Summer of Her Baldness—which documents her experience with breast cancer and chemotherapy—and turning these into Weed Killer’s script, P. illuminates larger questions to do with the relationship between decaying bodies and hostile environments.

EPISODE 3: Jesse Darling
03.08.2021 · 06:47
00:00

This episode marks the first of four poetry readings on UNRELIABLE NARRATOR. We invited the artist Jesse Darling to read a few poems of their own choosing, in dialogue with the poetry already included A FIRE IN MY BELLY. In this episode, they will be reading three poems: first, a fragment from Brendan Joyce’s “five from Unemployment Insurance”, then C.D. Wright’s Flame which is reprinted as a wall vinyl in the A FIRE IN MY BELLY exhibition space, and Franny Choi’s The World Keeps Ending, and the World Goes On. Introduced by Eugene Yiu Nam Cheung, curatorial assistant of A FIRE IN MY BELLY and the Julia Stoschek Collection.

EPISODE 2: Marianna Simnett
09.07.2021 · 40:58
00:00

In this episode curator Lisa Long speaks with artist Marianna Simnett, whose installation Faint with Light (2016) in on loan and view in A FIRE IN MY BELLY at JSC Berlin. In their conversation, they dive into  the possible and impossible spaces of empathy afforded by the work, an experience Orit Gat has described as “stressful, painful, regretful, almost impossible to look at—and empathetic as anything can be.” Long and Simnett also discuss the importance of abstraction as a means of refusing representation, surrender as a politics of the everyday, and the moving image as a type of operating theater.

EPISODE 1: Sophia Al-Maria
14.06.2021 · 33:38
00:00

This episode of UNRELIABLE NARRATOR features Lisa Long — curator of the Julia Stoschek Collection — in conversation with the artist Sophia Al-Maria, whose video work Beast Type Song (2019) is included in A FIRE IN MY BELLY. Here, Long and Al-Maria speak about the postcolonial resonances of Sycorax in Shakespeare’s The Tempest, the potentials of overcoming speechlessness, and how the past can instruct a future that we cannot yet see.